Adding Backup vNetwork card in Bulk using vCenter Orchestrator

Last week I was given task to create a vCO workflow which will allow L1 sysadmins to add a network card to all VMs. I was arguing why not use Powershell? Powershell script was ready in minutes. IT manager was not comfortable with script as his experience were not good in the past and above all this task must be done by L1 during non-business hours. It should be easily executed by them.

I did took his point where in Level-1 won’t have sufficient knowledge to troubleshoot or understand the powershell script. But my point was workflow will take some time as I didn’t saw any built in workflow for it.

I started to search a better way to do it. simplest way was to use Onyx. Onyx didn’t  proved much of help here. Script given by Onyx is not at all workable. I spent lot of my time in understanding it. And some Google search. It wasn’t easy for me.

I took a powershell out from Onyx and started working on it. It gave me fare bit of idea how it should be achieved.

image

I have designed Workflow which could be seen above. In the workflow I first searched all the VMs in particular resource pool. You can search in the Custer, folder or other places. After I got the VMs, I have to add them network card. Since I’m expected to get more than one VM, I get all VMs in an array. To go through each VM, I used foreach loop.That is all.

User interface below only asks Level –I to select resource pool. Inside the resource pool all VMs will be added with additional network card.

image

In my case I selected TESTVMs resource pool as seen below

image

Press Submit and Booom, network cards are attached as seen below

image

Let me explain you the script. If you don’t read my comments go to the bottom of this post to download the script.


var managedObject = VM;<- VM is Virtual machine to which you wish to add network card
var spec = new VcVirtualMachineConfigSpec();<- You need to initialized virtual machine configuration spec
var myDeviceChange = new Array(); <- you also need to initialized a array to hold all changes.
var myVirtualMachineNICCard = new VcVirtualE1000(); <- you need to initialized  VcVirtualE1000 network card and below you fill all the required values
var configSpec = new VcVirtualDeviceConfigSpec(); <- initialized virtual machine device configuration specification

myVirtualMachineNICCard.key = 0;
myVirtualMachineNICCard.backing = new VcVirtualEthernetCardNetworkBackingInfo();
<- initialized virtual machine network backing information
myVirtualMachineNICCard.backing.deviceName = “VM Network”;
myVirtualMachineNICCard.connectable = new VcVirtualDeviceConnectInfo();
<- initialized virtual machine connectable information
myVirtualMachineNICCard.connectable.startConnected = true;
myVirtualMachineNICCard.connectable.allowGuestControl = true;
myVirtualMachineNICCard.connectable.connected = true;
myVirtualMachineNICCard.addressType = “generated”;
myVirtualMachineNICCard.wakeOnLanEnabled = true;
configSpec.operation = VcVirtualDeviceConfigSpecOperation.add;
<-since we want to add the network card, we use add
configSpec.device = myVirtualMachineNICCard
myDeviceChange.push(configSpec)
spec.deviceChange = myDeviceChange
managedObject.reconfigVM_Task(spec)


Script is the most difficult part for this post. I tried my best to explain it. Hope it helps you all.

I also took opportunity to update my previous post and now workflow looks as shown below. User gets option to select backup network. In order to implement it I used decision workflow. If user has selected Backup Network required as Yes, then green line will be followed where network card will be added and next workflow will be executed. If he says No, add backup network workflow is skipped and next workflow is followed.

image

image

Hope it helps.

Anyone want to use or modify this script can download it from here.

And modified workflow can be downloaded from here

Leave a Reply

