How install VCSA on workstation 7.x

I’m working vSphere 5.0 for more than two months and I tried various non-conventional way to install VCSA on VMware workstation 7.x. As the methods were incorrect installation always failed. As VCSA comes in OVF format I was unsure how to use it on VMware workstation. As we are all preparing for VCP510 I was very keen to get this work. One of the typical method I tried was to use VMware workstation’s file menu’s export option. This was wrong choice.

image

Later on a quick search on google gave me a hint to use ovftool.exe. OVFTOOL.exe comes with VMware workstation and in installed at C:\Program Files (x86)\VMware\VMware Workstation\OVFTool

I cannot image it was simple after I came to know the magic tool was OVFTOOL.exe. Thanks to VMware they not made any check on VCSA.

Open command prompt at the above location type

ovftool.exe d:\locationofvcsaovffile.ovf and you will get details shown below.

clip_image002

This provides lots of details. You can use this command even before installing this application.

Now go ahead and type following command

ovftool.exe locationofovffileofVCSA.ovf PlaceWhereYouWantCreateVM

 

I have shown an example below. (If screen unreadable, double click the screen)

SNAGHTML144fd12e

Wait for it to complete 100%. Once complete go and open vmx file using VMware workstation. You can see below screen is pre-populated in workstation console. Power On the VM and you are ready to gooooooooooo. Remember to reduce the memory size from 8 GB to your requirements. I prefer 2 GB

 

clip_image002[6]

You can follow similar steps and install vMA5.0 on VMware workstation.

Hurray…it saved lot of work for me….

 

One thought on “How install VCSA on workstation 7.x

Leave a Reply

